West Virginia Car Insurance

West Virginia

West Virginia guidelines state that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle without car insurance. Doing so is a violation of the state’s compulsory insurance law.  Like most other states, West Virginia’s guidelines state that you must be able to take financial responsibility should you be involved in an accident.  Here at CarInsuranceReviews.com we will clarify West Virginia’s minimum liability requirements before putting you in touch with some of the most competitive insurance companies in your area.

Proving Financial Responsibility in West Virginia

In the state of West Virginia, the only acceptable way to prove financial responsibility is to show proof of insurance purchased from a state-licensed insurance company.  Some states give you the option of posting a cash bond instead but not in West Virginia law does not extend the same choices.

The West Virginia DMV will require you to show proof that you have at least minimum liability coverage. They will ask for verification of your insurance coverage when you initially register your car or when you renew your registration. They are also allowed to ask for insurance verification at random times throughout the year.

West Virginia’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The minimum allowable limits of liability coverage will vary from state to state. Drivers in West Virginia are required to carry bodily injury liability limits of at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident (up to 2 people) to pay for medical expenses or costs related to death. Drivers must also carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability.

These limits apply to liability only and are very low. You should consider increasing these limits if you can afford to do so. Your liability coverage will not pay for any damage to your vehicle – only to that of the other driver involved.  You are encouraged to acquire additional coverage, like comprehensive and collision, so your own car will be protected as well.

The DMV will verify your insurance coverage, but you still need to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle.  If you are ever involved in an accident or pulled over by a police officer for any violation, you will need to be able to prove that you do have insurance.

Penalties for Failure to Have Car Insurance in West Virginia

Drivers who are caught without insurance for the first time will receive an automatic license suspension lasting for 30 days. Repeat offenders will receive driver’s license suspensions of at least 90 days. To reinstate your license you will have to pay a fee of $50.

Your vehicle registration will automatically be suspended as well. You’ll need to obtain proof of insurance and pay anywhere from $100 to $150 to reinstate your registration and license plates.

CarInsuranceReviews.Com Wants to Help

We at CarInsuranceReviews.com want to make shopping for car insurance simple.  We’ll put you in touch with local carriers who will offer competitive quotes.  All you have to do is compare them and pick the right policy for your needs.

Ready to get started?  Just fill in your zip code in the form below and click.  It’s really that easy.

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map