Washington Car Insurance

Washington

The state of Washington requires that most motor vehicles be covered by insurance unless the driver of that motor vehicle has established proof of financial responsibility in some other way.  Washington state is not alone in this mandate. It is now necessary to have car insurance in almost every state in the nation if you are going to drive legally.  CarInsuranceReviews.com wants to help you find the best coverage possible.  After you read about the minimum coverage that is acceptable in Washington, we’ll help you to find a simple solution to your car insurance needs.

Proving Financial Responsibility in Washington

There are several ways you can meet the Washington’s financial responsibility requirements. These including buying a car insurance policy, obtaining and filing a certificate of deposit (or a cash deposit) of at least $60,000, obtaining a surety bond in the amount of at least $60,000, or self-insuring. The self-insurance option is only made available to car dealerships owning at least 26 vehicles. The easiest way to prove financial responsibility is by simply purchasing a car insurance policy from a state-approved carrier.

Washington’s Minimum Insurance Requirements

There are certain vehicles that do not have to have insurance coverage in Washington.  Those include motorcycles, mopeds, antique vehicles, collector’s vehicles that are over 30 years old, publicly owned vehicles, state owned vehicles, and common or contract carriers for the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission.

All drivers with private passenger vehicles must purchase at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for the medical bills or death expenses of those you injure. You must also obtain a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability coverage to repair the vehicles or other property you destroy.

These minimums apply to the mandatory liability coverages only.  If you want coverage that will protect your car, you will need to buy additional options, such as comprehensive, collision, GAP, towing, and rental reimbursement.

Whether you opt to buy insurance or post a bond, you must be able to produce proof of your financial responsibility.  Carry this proof in your vehicle at all times.  Some states do you allow a very small window of time to come up with proof of insurance if you do not have it with you, but that time frame is brief.  Keeping the information in your glove box where it is quickly accessible is really the wisest decision.

Washington’s Penalties for Driving without Insurance

If you cannot provide proof that you are financially responsible after being involved in an accident, or after being stopped for a traffic violation, the DMV will assume that you do not have car insurance. You will have to go to court and pay a fine of at least $450.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help You

We want to make getting car insurance easy for you.  CarInsuranceReviews.com can put you in touch with a number of local insurance companies ready to give you competitive quotes. All you have to do is compare the limits and premiums before deciding which insurance policy is the best fit for your needs.  It’s that simple.

So what are you waiting for?  Fill in your zip code in the form below and click. That’s all you have to do to start shopping for competitively priced insurance policies in Washington state!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map