Utah Car Insurance

utah

Individuals driving private passenger vehicles or trucks in the state of Utah are required to have car insurance on their vehicles at all times. Any vehicle registered in Utah must have insurance coverage provided by a business licensed in the state. Unlike some other states, drivers in Utah may not post bonds or self-insure. We at CarInsuranceReviews.com aim to give you all of the information you need in order to purchase proper coverage.

Utah’s Minimum Insurance Requirements

Most state motor vehicle agencies have minimum mandatory levels of coverage when it comes to purchasing liability insurance. Utah is no different. The minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage you may purchase is $25,000 per person and $65,000 for the entire accident. The minimum level of property damage liability coverage you may purchase is $15,000 per accident.

Utah is considered a no-fault state and, as such, your insurance carrier will be responsible for paying for your initial medical bills regardless of who caused the accident. Because of this rule, you are also required to carry at least $3,000 in personal injury protection, or PIP.

These coverage limits are, again, only the minimums. You would be well advised to talk to your insurance agent about increasing your liability limits to whatever you can reasonably afford. These low limits may cover your expenses if you cause a fender bender but might leave you in a lurch if you cause a serious accident.

Optional Insurance Coverage Options

Liability coverage is mandatory but there are several other coverage options for you to consider as well. Comprehensive coverage will pay for damages to your vehicle caused by fire, theft, vandalism, or acts of nature. Collision coverage will pay for damages you cause in an accident. These coverages are commonly added to new vehicles and may be required if you are financing your car.

Other coverage options to consider include GAP coverage, rental reimbursement, and towing coverage. These are usually only available if you have purchased comprehensive and collision coverage, so ask your insurance representative for details.

Driving without Insurance in Utah

The state of Utah keeps two lists – one showing which vehicles are registered and another showing which vehicles are insured. The lists are cross-referenced and the owner of any registered vehicle showing to not have insurance will receive a request for proof of coverage.

So what will happen if you are caught without car insurance in Utah? Driving while uninsured is classified as a class B offense or misdemeanor and comes with a fine of at least $400. You may also have your license and registration suspended and you will not be able to regain your driving rights until you can prove you have purchased insurance.

Working with CarInsuranceReviews.com

The folks at CarInsuranceReviews.com don’t want you to be on the list of registered cars without insurance coverage. We’ll work to help you find affordable insurance by putting you in touch with the companies we know and trust.

Ready to get started? Enter your zip code into the box below and we’ll initiate contact. It’s really that easy!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map