Tennessee Car Insurance

tennessee

Tennessee’s car insurance regulations are no different than those found in other states. While the state is full of incredible people and attractions, driving without car insurance won’t help you to make friends. CarInsuranceReviews.com is proud to provide you with everything you need to know about Tennessee’s minimum car insurance requirements.

What is Financial Responsibility?

Simply put, financial responsibility is the term that refers to your ability to financially compensate someone you injure if you cause an accident. You’ll be responsible for paying medical bills as well as for repairs to the property you damage.

Tennessee law gives drivers only two options for proving financial responsibility. You may either give the Department of Safety a cash deposit or bond or you may purchase car insurance from a company licensed to sell coverage in Tennessee.

Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements

Tennessee car insurance guidelines are not much different than those found in other states. Any liability insurance policy you purchase must have at least the minimum limits of coverage. The minimum limits in Tennessee are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, the coverage you need to pay for medical bills or death expenses. You are also required to carry at least $15,000 per accident in property damage coverage in order to pay for damage you cause to another person’s vehicle or other property.

These limits are only the minimums allowable by law and should be increased if you can afford to do so. Increasing these limits will protect you and your assets should you cause an accident that results in damages higher than the amounts listed on your policy. Ask your agent about additional coverage options you can add to protect your vehicle and assets.

Proving You Have Insurance in Tennessee

Proving you have car insurance in Tennessee is simple. All you have to do is keep a copy of your insurance identification card, binder, or policy declaration page in your car at all times. Any of these documents are acceptable as proof of coverage and you will need to have one on hand if you are involved in an accident or if you are pulled over for some other type of moving violation.

Driving without insurance is considered a Class C misdemeanor offense and comes with serious penalties. You’ll be fined at least $100, may have your licensed suspended, and will have your registration revoked. You won’t be able to drive again until you purchase insurance, pay the fines, and pay the fees to reinstate your license and registration.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

There is really no need to even attempt driving in Tennessee without car insurance. We know the process of shopping for coverage and choosing between the various companies can be a daunting task.

We want to make the process a bit simpler for you. All you have to do is enter your zip code in the box below. We’ll put you in touch with the most reputable carriers in Tennessee so that you can compare coverages and prices. It’s really that simple!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map