South Dakota Car Insurance

south dakota

South Dakota is not unlike most other states, requiring drivers to provide proof of financial responsibility before they can operate vehicles. Financial responsibility laws have been put into place in order to ensure drivers who cause accidents are able to pay for the damages they cause. CarInsuranceReviews.com has the information you need to determine which South Dakota car insurance option is best for you.

Proving Financial Responsibility in South Dakota

South Dakota state law gives drivers four distinct options for proving financial responsibility. Individuals or businesses in possession of at least 26 automobiles may choose to self-insure. Other drivers may opt to provide proof that they have obtained a surety bond, a Certificate of Deposit totaling at least $50,000, or liability insurance. Liability insurance can only be purchased from a company licensed to do business in South Dakota.

South Dakota Insurance Requirements

Most drivers find that purchasing a car insurance policy is the most affordable and reasonable option. State law requires that all liability policies carry at least the minimum limits. In South Dakota, the minimum limit for bodily injury liability is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. The minimum acceptable limit for property damage liability is $25,000 per accident.

These limits, while higher than the minimums required by most other states, are actually very low. The financial impact of an accident involving serious injury or property damage could be much higher and if you don’t purchase limits higher than the minimums you could end up paying the difference out of pocket. If you are unable to pay, you might lose your home, savings, or other assets.

Optional South Dakota Coverage Options

You may, of course, choose to add additional coverage options to your policy as well. Comprehensive and collision coverage are amongst the most popular. Comprehensive coverage protects your vehicle against theft, acts of vandalism, or acts of nature while collision coverage protects your vehicle against damage you cause on your own. While these coverages are optional, they are usually added to newer vehicles and may be required on vehicles that are financed or leased.

Penalties for Not Having Insurance in South Dakota

South Dakota law classifies driving without insurance as a class 2 misdemeanor offense. The penalties associated with such an offense include a fine of at least $100 and possible jail time, up to a maximum of 30 days. Your driver’s license may be suspended for up to a year and you will face strict monitoring of your insurance status once you have everything reinstated. You’ll also have to pay higher rates for insurance because of your previous lapse.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

We at CarInsuranceReviews.com know how important it is for you to have affordable insurance coverage at all times. We also know how difficult it can be to choose from the dozens of carriers approved to do business in South Dakota.

Let us take the guesswork out of the process of shopping for insurance. Enter your zip code into the box below and we’ll put you in touch with some of the best car insurance companies in your area – guaranteed!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map