South Carolina Car Insurance

south carolina

The car insurance market in South Carolina is incredibly competitive and finding affordable coverage can be tough. CarInsuranceReviews.com is here to share everything you need to know about financial responsibility in South Carolina – from what you need to do to show it to the minimum coverage limits you are allowed to carry.

Proving Financial Responsibility in South Carolina

The state of South Carolina requires all drivers to purchase a car insurance policy before they can register a vehicle. The only other option is to pay an annual fee of $550 to register as an uninsured motorist. While this may be a simple work-around for those who can’t afford coverage, it provides absolutely no protection to those who cause accidents. Any injuries or property damages will still be the responsibility of the driver involved in the accident. Investing a bit more in a car insurance policy is the most financially responsible solution.

South Carolina Minimum Insurance Limits

South Carolina law states that all drivers with an insurance policy must have at least the state-mandated minimum limits. These limits are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 for property damage liability. These limits pay for the damages you cause others and are not for your own expenses.

South Carolina is not a no-fault state. It is a tort state, which means those you injure in an accident have the right to sue you. The reality of the situation is that the minimum limits of liability are not high enough to protect you if you are in a serious accident and anything over and above those limits will come out of your own pocket. Most advisors would recommend purchasing higher limits of liability to protect your home, cars, savings, and other assets from being wiped out after a serious event.

Driving without Insurance in South Carolina

The penalties for not providing proof of insurance in South Carolina vary depending on the situation you are in. If you are pulled over because of a traffic violation and can’t show coverage you’ll receive a ticket and could possibly be fined or put in jail. You’ll have 30 days to prove you had coverage and, if you don’t, your license will be suspended. The fees to reinstate your license will vary anywhere from $100 to $550.

Being caught in an accident with no insurance is even worse. You’ll automatically receive a suspension of your license and registration and may be subject to additional penalties and fines – not to mention the out of pocket costs associated with paying for the damages you caused.

CarInsuranceReviews.com has the Answer

Registering as an uninsured driver isn’t suitable and driving without insurance is even worse. We at CarInsruanceReviews.com have built strong relationships with trusted insurance company partners, all promising to give you fair and accurate insurance quotes.

All you have to do is enter your zip code into the form below. We’ll put you in touch with some of the most reputable insurance companies in South Carolina right away!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map