Pennsylvania Car Insurance

pennsylvania

The state of Pennsylvania offers only two options to individuals who want to operate a motor vehicle. They must either go through the process of proving they can self-insure or they must purchase a car insurance policy from a state-approved company. The latter is the most popular solution and CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the details you need to make sure you are getting the best coverage possible.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania insurance law is regulated by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, otherwise known as PennDOT. The state requires all insurance policies to list at least the state-mandated limits of liability coverage. Drivers in PA must have at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident involving more than one person in bodily injury liability coverage. Bodily injury liability will pay for the medical or death expenses associated with an accident you cause. Drivers must also carry at least $5,000 in property damage liability.

These limits of liability are amongst the lowest in the nation. If you were to be involved in a serious car accident, they would only begin to scratch the surface in terms of paying for your liabilities. You should consider talking to your financial advisor and insurance representative about increasing the limits on your policy to whatever you can afford in order to protect your assets.

Pennsylvania is a no-fault state and, as such, your insurance company will pay for damage to your vehicles regardless of who caused the accident in question. Keep the value of your own vehicle in mind as you choose your coverage limits.

Optional Pennsylvania Coverage

Make sure you consider adding coverages to your policy to protect you and your own investments as well. Comprehensive and collision coverage is very popular amongst those who own newer vehicles. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages caused by nature, theft, vandalism, fire, and even collisions with animals (like deer). Collision coverage will pay for damages you cause to your vehicle. Comprehensive and collision are not mandatory but you may be required by contract to purchase them if you are financing or leasing your vehicle.

Driving without Insurance in Pennsylvania

It is illegal to drive without insurance in Pennsylvania. If your coverage lapses or expires and you turn your plates into PennDOT right away you won’t be penalized. Driving without coverage is another story. You face fines of at least $300, license and registration suspensions totaling at least 3 months, and fees of at least $50 each to reinstate your license and registration.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help

Need help finding car insurance? CarInsuranceReviews.com understands how difficult it can be to choose from the dozens of carriers in the state. We have partnered with several reputable Pennsylvania insurance companies in an attempt to find the ones most likely to offer affordable rates and reasonable coverage options.

All you have to do is take action. Enter your zip code into the field below right now. We’ll immediately put you in touch with some of the best insurance companies in your area!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map