Oregon Car Insurance

oregon

Oregon state law mandates that all drivers must have car insurance in order to operate a motor vehicle. There are simply no exceptions to this rule unless you are a car dealer, in which case you must get special permission to self-insure your fleet. At CarInsuranceReviews.com, we aim to provide you with the most accurate information regarding Oregon insurance requirements so that you can obtain the best policy possible.

Oregon Minimum Insurance Requirements

The minimum limits of insurance required by law vary from state. While Oregon’s minimum limits are by no means the lowest, they certainly aren’t very high. All drivers in Oregon must purchase at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for medical expenses. They must also purchase at least $20,000 to pay for property damage they cause.

Oregon is not a no-fault state but is unique in that it still requires all drivers to purchase PIP, or personal injury protection. The minimum limit of PIP coverage is $15,000 and is used to pay for your own medical expenses after an accident. PIP coverage will extend to you, your passengers, anyone you allow to drive your vehicle. The coverage will also pay your medical bills if you are hit by a car while acting as a pedestrian.

Uninsured motorist coverage is not mandatory in all states but Oregon again differs by making this a requirement as well. Uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your medical bills or to repair your property if you are involved in an accident with a driver who simply does not carry insurance coverage. The minimum limits of uninsured motorist coverage in Oregon are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

These limits of insurance are very low and should be reviewed carefully. Most financial advisors would recommend purchasing much higher limits of liability coverage to protect your assets if you are responsible for causing an accident. The higher your liability limits, the lower your odds of having to pay expenses out of your own pocket.

Driving without Insurance in Oregon

Driving without insurance is a serious offense but the DMV in Oregon tries to take a proactive approach to catching uninsured drivers. The DMV will periodically send letters to individuals who have registered vehicles to ask for the name and of the insurance company and the policy number. They’ll then contact the insurance company to verify that your policy is indeed in effect. If it is not, you will be required to purchase insurance and will have to file an SR-22 form for at least three years. Having to do so will mark you as a high-risk driver and will cause your insurance premiums to rise.

Getting into an accident without insurance comes with additional penalties and fines and may also involve the suspension of your driver’s license and registration.

CarInsuranceReviews.com can Help

Need help finding car insurance? Enter your zip code into the box below and we’ll put you in touch with trusted Oregon insurance companies from your area. Finding car insurance has never been easier.

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map