Oklahoma Car Insurance

oklahoma

Car insurance regulations in the state of Oklahoma are similar to those in other states. All drivers must prove financial responsibility before hitting the road and can do so in a number of different ways. While proving financial responsibility may seem difficult, CarInsuranceReviews.com is working hard to make sure you have all of the information you need to simplify the process.

Establishing Financial Responsibility in Oklahoma

Oklahoma law does give drivers a series of options for proving financial responsibility. These include purchasing a surety bond or giving a cash deposit in the amount of $75,000 to the Department of Public Safety. Most people opt to purchase car insurance but those who are unable to do so because of an unsatisfactory driving record may have to purchase a policy through the Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan.

Oklahoma’s Minimum Coverage Requirements

All states requiring car insurance have requirements setting mandatory minimum limits. In Oklahoma, all drivers must purchase at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident involving more than one person in bodily injury liability. This coverage pays for the medical expenses others may incur if you cause an accident. Your policy must also include at least $25,000 in property damage coverage to reimburse the other party for damages to his vehicle or other types of property.

While these limits are higher than those requested by some other states they are still considered incredibly low. If you were to become involved in an accident, your insurance company would not pay for any damages over and above the amounts listed on your policy, making you financially responsible for the difference. The simplest solution is to talk to your insurance representative about purchasing higher liability limits. They are available in a number of different denominations, ranging up to $100,000 and higher.

You may want to further protect your assets by adding a series of other optional coverages to your policy. You may be able to purchase uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to protect you against drivers who cannot prove financial responsibility. Comprehensive and collision coverage options are available to help you pay for damages to your vehicle if it is stolen, vandalized, or involved in an accident you caused.

Oklahoma Penalties for Not Having Insurance

You must have proof of insurance with you at all times while driving, usually in the form of an insurance identification card. Failure to provide proof of coverage at the time you are pulled over or involved in an accident may result in a fine of any amount up to $250, up to 30 days in prison, and the suspension of your license and registration.

Allowing CarInsuranceReviews.com to Help

Driving without insurance in Oklahoma simply isn’t worth the price you’ll have to pay. CarInsuranceReviews.com can help by putting you in touch with some of our trusted partners. They’ll review your needs and provide fair quotes.

Are you ready to shop? Enter your zip code into the field below and we’ll start contacting our partners. Shopping for car insurance will never be easier!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map