Ohio Car Insurance

ohio

Car insurance regulations in the state of Ohio are pretty cut and dry. It is illegal to drive a motor vehicle without first proving you are financially responsible. We at CarInsuranceReviews.com have all of the information you need to understand Ohio car insurance regulations and we’re ready to help you find the best coverage possible.

Proving Financial Responsibility in Ohio

Financial responsibility refers to your ability to pay for damages you may cause if you are found responsible for causing an accident. The state of Ohio gives drivers several options for proving financial responsibility. Some people opt to submit a bond in the amount of $30,000 while others prefer to show the Bureau of Motor Vehicles that they have submitted a cash deposit in the same amount to the State Treasurer. Individuals who own more than 26 vehicles may opt to prove they are capable of self-insuring, but this option really only applies to car dealers or companies specializing in transportation. The easiest and most affordable method for proving financial responsibility is by purchasing a car insurance policy.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Ohio

Car insurance policies must be purchased from companies licensed to do business in the state. Ohio regulations are very clear in the minimum liability amounts that must be purchased. Drivers must have at least $12,500 per person and $25,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for medical expenses associated with an accident you cause. The policy must also include at least $7,500 in property damage liability to pay for property and vehicle repairs.

Please note that these limits are the minimums required by state law and that these numbers are, in reality, very low. Your car insurance company will only pay the amount listed on your policy declaration page if you are in an accident and the amounts listed here are not enough to pay for significant damage. Consider talking to your insurance representative about the costs associated with buying higher limits.

Driving without Coverage in Ohio

There are, of course, serious penalties for driving without insurance in Ohio. You may have a policy but get caught off guard, without proof of coverage in your vehicle. If this happens, you’ll have to either bring proof of coverage to court or mail it to the motor vehicle bureau.

If you do not have insurance, your license and registration will be suspended. Those caught for the first time will not be allowed to driver for 90 days. Repeat offenders face longer suspensions in addition to the fees associated with reinstatement.

CarInsuranceReviews.com has the Solution

Choosing a car insurance company can be difficult. CarInsuranceReviews.com has taken the guesswork out of choosing a carrier by partnering with some of the most reputable insurers in Ohio. All you’ll have to do is sit back, compare the quotes and prices, and choose which you like best.

Ready to get started? Enter your zip code into the field below. You’ll have all the contact information you need within monents!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map