North Dakota Car Insurance

north dakota

North Dakota is one of the dozen or so states in the country that operates under no-fault insurance laws. Proving financial responsibility in a state like this is incredibly important and our goal at CarInsuranceReview.com is to make sure you have access to all of the information you need to understand North Dakota’s regulations.

Financial Responsibility in North Dakota

Proving financial responsibility in North Dakota is relatively easy. Your only real option is to purchase a car insurance policy. You may self-insure but only if you own more than 25 registered vehicles. This option usually only applies to car dealers and transportation groups.

Some people may not qualify for a standard insurance policy. This may happen if you have a bad driving record, if you have been involved in numerous accidents, or if you have a record of driving while intoxicated or without insurance. If this happens, you may have to bypass traditional insurance companies and apply for coverage through the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in North Dakota

The minimum requirements for insurance in North Dakota are relatively comprehensive in comparison to other states, requiring drivers to obtain several different types of coverage. Like most other states, drivers are required to carry bodily injury and the minimum limits in North Dakota are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident involving more than one person. Drivers must also carry at least $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.

Not all states require uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage and some states combine the two into one limit but North Dakota has separate limit requirements for each. Drivers must purchase at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for each of these coverage options. Underinsured motorist coverage will protect you against injuries caused by a driver who has not purchased enough coverage while uninsured motorist coverage will protect you against drivers who have no insurance at all.

Drivers in North Dakota are also required to purchase at least $30,000 in no-fault coverage. This coverage will pay for your initial medical expenses and property damage bills associated with certain minor accidents, eliminating the need for litigation against the person who caused the accident.

Driving without Coverage in North Dakota

You must have proof of insurance coverage with you at all times while driving. Failure to provide proof of insurance is considered a Class B misdemeanor and you will be fined at least $150 for your first offense. Subsequent offenses involve fines and the impoundment of your vehicle. If you are in an accident without insurance you will automatically receive 14 points on your driver’s license. This high number of points will result in your license being suspended.

CarInsuranceReviews.com has the Answer

There are dozens of car insurance companies in North Dakota but we at CarInsuranceReviews.com know how difficult it can be to sort through all of their offers. We’ve partnered with some of the best to ensure you have access to the best quotes and coverage options available.

Enter your zip code into the field below. We’ll immediately put you in touch with a series of local companies ready to give you the best quotes possible!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map