North Carolina Car Insurance

north carolina

Mandatory car insurance regulations were not put in place in North Carolina until 1957. Regulated by the NC Department of Transportation, or NCDOT, those regulations have certainly changed over the past 50+ years. The one thing that has not changed is the fact that all drivers in the state must prove financial responsibility by purchasing a car insurance policy from a company licensed to do business in North Carolina. We at want to make sure you have everything you need to make an informed decision when it comes to choosing a carrier.

North Carolina Minimum Insurance Requirements

All states have their own set minimum limits of liability coverage that must appear on all car insurance policies and North Carolina is no different. The minimum acceptable limit of bodily injury liability is $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident involving more than one injured party or death. Your policy must also include at least $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.

While North Carolina does not have no-fault laws, which means you will be sued for all medical bills and damages if you cause an accident. This means you must be prepared to pay for any costs not covered by the limits listed on your policy. Because of this, it is important to seriously consider increasing your liability limits to the highest amounts you can reasonably afford.

North Carolina Optional Coverages

There are, of course, several other options you may want to include on your car insurance policy that North Carolina does not consider mandatory. These include uninsured motorist coverage (to protect you against uninsured drivers), comprehensive coverage (protecting your vehicle from things like fire or theft), collision coverage (to pay for damages you cause), towing reimbursement, and rental reimbursement.  While these coverages are considered optional by the state, you may be required by contract to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage if you are financing or leasing your car.

Looking for Insurance Discounts

There are several things you can do to lower the cost of insurance in North Carolina as well. Ask your insurance representative about the discounts available for increasing your deductibles, taking defensive driver courses, or installing anti-theft devices. Each can have a significant impact on different aspects of your policy. You may even quality for discounts for purchasing both your home and car insurance from the same company.

No Insurance in North Carolina

Have you been driving throughout North Carolina with no insurance coverage? If you get caught, you can expect to have your license and registration suspended. You’ll also have to pay a series of fines and penalties totaling at least $200 in addition to the cost of having your license and registration reinstated. You will, of course, have to purchase insurance coverage as well. Has the Answer can help. All you have to do is enter your zip code into the field below to be put in touch with several reputable North Carolina insurance companies. You’ll have several reasonable quotes for insurance in no time!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved. | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map