New Hampshire Car Insurance

new hampshire

New Hampshire is certainly the exception to the rule when it comes to car insurance. It is the only state in the country that does not require individuals to purchase car insurance or prove financial responsibility before registering a vehicle. Usually, car insurance is not required until after an incident has occurred. Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to make sure you know exactly what is legally required of you in New Hampshire.

When to Prove Financial Responsibility

As noted, New Hampshire law does not require drivers to prove financial responsibility before they hit the road. Insurance coverage is considered optional but the fact that you do not have to carry insurance does not alleviate you of your legal obligation to take responsibility if you cause an accident. Not having insurance will result in you being held personally responsible, whether you opt to settle or go to court to determine the extent of the damages.

The state of New Hampshire will require you to prove financial responsibility if you are involved in one of a series of incidents. These include involvement in an accident, a conviction for DUI or DWI, a series of reckless driving violations, or other serious traffic violations. If this happens, the department of motor vehicles will require you to carry liability coverage for a period of at least three years.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in New Hampshire

If you are required to purchase insurance, the state minimum limits will apply. Drivers must purchase a minimum limit of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and a minimum of $25,000 in property damage liability. These coverages will pay for the medical bills and property repair bills you cause others to incur if you cause an accident.

While most people aren’t required to purchase car insurance in New Hampshire, it is certainly recommended. As a matter of fact, purchasing car insurance will protect you from losing your assets if you are involved in a serious accident and can’t afford to pay out of pocket. We recommend talking to your insurance representative about increasing the coverage limits to whatever you can afford to better protect yourself while on the road.

Proving Financial Responsibility in New Hampshire

All drivers who are involved in an accident must pay for the bills associated with the damages they cause. Failure to do so will result in the New Hampshire DMV suspending your driver’s license. Those who are required to carry coverage and are found without it will have their license and registration will be suspended as well.

Shop with CarInsuranceReviews.com

Driving without car insurance is a risk you shouldn’t take, whether the state allows you to or not. There are dozens of great options for insuring your vehicle in New Hampshire and CarInsuranceReviews.com can help you to make the right choice.

Start by entering your zip code into the field below. We’ll immediately put you in touch with several local car insurance companies so that you can start comparing prices. It’s really that easy!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map