Nevada Car Insurance

nevada

Nevada law isn’t much different from other states in terms of insurance requirements. Where Nevada is most unique is in its stiff penalties for driving without insurance. The only option for proving financial responsibility in Nevada is to purchase a car insurance policy. The only exception applies to individual or businesses who own more than 11 cars, in which case self-insurance is also a feasible choice. We at CarInsuranceReviews.com want to make sure you have all of the information you need about Nebraska Car Insurance so that you can make the right choice when choosing a policy.

Nevada Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The minimum limits of liability required by law in Nebraska are amongst the lowest in the country. Drivers must carry at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability to pay for the medical bills they may cause others to incur. Drivers must also purchase a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability to pay for the repair or replacement of vehicles or other damaged property.

Nevada law only dictates the minimum amount of insurance you must purchase but does not set a maximum amount. These minimum limits of liability may pay for the damages you cause another person in a relatively minor accident but will not protect you or your assets if you cause a serious accident. Your car insurance company will not pay anything over the limits listed on your policy. Talk to your insurance agent about purchasing higher liability limits so that you can protect your home, cars, savings, and other assets if there is a major event.

Additional Insurance Options

There are many additional insurance options not mandated by the state for you to choose from as well. Comprehensive and collision, also known as “full coverage,” are designed to protect your own vehicle. Comprehensive will reimburse you if your vehicle is stolen, vandalized, or hit by a deer while collision coverage will reimburse you for damages you cause on your own. These coverages are not mandated by state law but those who finance or lease vehicles may be required to add them by contract. The deductible you choose will dictate the price for these options.

Driving without Insurance in Nevada

The penalties for driving without insurance in Nevada are significant. If you are caught without insurance you will first receive an immediate suspension of your driver’s license and registration. If you are pulled over and are found to have no insurance, the police officer at the scene may immediately impound your vehicle as well.

Most states will allow you to show proof of insurance and pay the normal reinstatement fee to get your license and registration back. Nevada requires an automatic reinstatement fee of $250.

The only exception is if your vehicle was marked as uninsured because of an electronic update by your insurance carrier. If you can prove that your vehicle was not being used because of major mechanical repairs or because it was stored for the season, you can submit a form to the DMV with a lower $50 reinstatement fee.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Wants to Help

There are dozens of great car insurance companies doing business in Nevada. All you need to do is find the right one.

Enter your zip code into the form below and we’ll put you in touch with some of the most reputable companies in your area. You’ll be on the road – legally – before you know it!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map