Nebraska Car Insurance

nebraska

Nebraska is not unlike most other states when it comes to the rules of the road. All drivers in Nebraska are required to show proof of financial responsibility before they can register a vehicle. CarInsuranceReviews.com wants you to understand Nebraska’s guidelines so that you can make an informed decision when purchasing car insurance.

What is Financial Responsibility?

Financial responsibility is a method for establishing you have the financial resources necessary to compensate another person for medical bills or damages associated with an accident you cause while driving. Like many other states, Nebraska law gives drivers a few different methods for proving financial responsibility. These options include giving the state treasurer a cash deposit of $75,000 or purchasing a surety bond. Driver with more than 26 vehicles may opt to self-insure, but this option usually only applies to car dealers or businesses with large vehicle fleets.

The easiest and most affordable option is to simply purchase a car insurance policy. The policy you purchase must come from a company licensed to do business in Nebraska and must include the state mandated minimum limits of liability.

Nebraska Insurance Minimums

Drivers in Nebraska must have at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury in order to pay the medical bills your victim will incur if you cause an accident. You must also carry at least $25,000 in property damage coverage to pay for vehicle repairs or for the repair or replacement of other types of property.

These limits of liability are only minimums and, as such, are incredibly low. If you were to get into an accident that resulted in significant damage, injury, or death these limits would simply not cover all of your expenses. It is important to talk to your insurance representative about purchasing higher liability limits in order to protect your assets – especially if you are a home or business owner.

Don’t Drive Without Insurance

The punishment for driving without insurance is severe in Nebraska. You’ll start with a fine up to $500 and will receive suspension of both your registration and driver’s license. In order to have them reinstated you’ll have to show proof of insurance, pay your fines, and pay to have the documents restored.

The state will also require you to file an SR-22 form with the DMV in Nebraska. Having to file this form will let your insurance carrier know you were a previously uninsured driver and will result in higher costs for insurance for at least a few years.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Has the Solution

There are dozens of car insurance companies to choose from in Nebraska, making it difficult to determine which is best. CarInsuranceReviews.com has partnered with some of the most reputable companies in the state, making it easier for you to obtain understandable quotes from quality businesses.

All you have to do is enter your zip code into the field below. We’ll take care of choosing some local carriers for you to work with. All you’ll have to do is compare the quotes and choose!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map