Montana Car Insurance

montana

With a gorgeous landscape and friendly people, you might find it hard to think of the state of Montana as one of the most active in the insurance industry. Believe it or not, car insurance companies in Montana average about $2 billion in revenue each year, placing them third on the list in terms of successful business practices. CarInsuranceReviews.com knows that searching for a reputable insurer in such a sea of success can be difficult and we’ve got all of the information you need to find the right coverage.

Establishing Financial Responsibility in Montana

Montana state law does allow drivers to choose from a variety of methods for proving financial responsibility. While insurance is the most popular choice, drivers may also purchase a surety bond or make a cash deposit of at least $55,000, payable to the state treasurer. Those who own more than 25 vehicles (usually transportation companies and car dealerships) may even opt to self-insure. Purchasing an insurance policy is usually easier and more affordable.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Montana

All insurance policies in Montana must have a minimum level of liability coverage as mandated by state law. Drivers must carry at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 in bodily injury liability along with at least $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. This means your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 in medical expenses for each individual you injure, up to a maximum of $50,000 for the entire accident. The total for property damage is $10,000 for the entire accident.

The problem is that these minimum limits may be acceptable for a minor fender bender but will not cover all of your expenses if you are ever in a serious car wreck. In order to protect your assets you’ll need to purchase higher liability limits. Ask your insurance representative about the added costs.

Proving You have Montana Car Insurance

Montana car insurance companies are required to electronically notify the state when you buy insurance coverage but they will also let the state know if your coverage is cancelled or non-renewed. Even though the company you do business with will report to the state, you will still be required to show proof of coverage in the form of an identification card (or proof of your other financial responsibility choice) at the time you are pulled over for an incident or accident.

First time offenders are usually fined around $500 and may spend 10 days in prison for driving without insurance. You’ll also get a 5 point violation on your insurance license. Repeat offenders will pay higher fines, may receive jail time, and will automatically receive a 90 day license suspension.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Helps Montana Drivers

Don’t drive without insurance in Montana. Let CarInsuranceReviews.com put you in touch with some of the best car insurance companies in the state. All you’ll have to do is compare the quotes and choose the best options for your needs.

All you have to do is put your zip code in the box below. You’ll be in touch with several quality companies before you know it!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map