Missouri Car Insurance

missouri

Missouri car insurance law is not unlike the laws mandated by most other states. Before registering a vehicle you must show proof of financial responsibility to the Department of Revenue. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need to understand Missouri’s financial responsibility guidelines and to purchase the best insurance coverage possible.

Financial Responsibility in Missouri

Like many states, Missouri allows drives to choose a method for proving financial responsibility, or the way they would pay for damages if they caused a car accident. Dealers who own more than 25 vehicles may opt to self-insure. Other drivers must show proof of a real estate bond, purchase a bond or make a cash deposit in the amount of $60,000, or buy liability insurance from a state-licensed insurance company. Most choose to simply buy car insurance.

Missouri’s Minimum Liability Requirements

State law dictates the minimum amount of liability you can purchase in Missouri. Your car insurance policy must include at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage as well as at least $10,000 in property damage liability. These limits will pay for the medical bills or damages another person incurs if you are found at fault for an accident.

Drivers must also include uninsured motorist coverage with the same minimum limits as listed for bodily injury liability – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage will protect you if you incur medical bills or property damage as a result of involvement in an accident where the other driver does not have coverage.

These limits are, as mentioned, all minimum limits. They will do very little to protect your assets if you are involved in a serious accident, especially one that involves serious injury, disability, or death. Your insurance policy will only pay up to the limits listed, so talking to your insurance representative about increasing your liability limits is crucial.

Optional Insurance Coverages

Missouri insurance carriers are able to provide several coverage limits above and beyond the state minimums. Comprehensive coverage, for example, would protect your own vehicle against things like theft and vandalism while collision coverage would pay for damages you cause in a crash or fender bender. These coverage options usually apply to newer vehicles and if you finance or lease your car your bank may require you to have them. Other options to consider include medical payments coverage, towing and labor, and rental reimbursement.

Missouri Penalties for Driving without Insurance

There is simply no reason to drive without insurance in Missouri. Doing so will result in a four point driving violation, the suspension of your driver’s license, and a probationary monitoring period. You’ll also have to pay several fees to reinstate your driving rights and will, of course, have to pay for insurance on top of everything else.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help You

CarInsruanceReviews.com has partnered with several Missouri car insurance companies so that you can obtain affordable quotes from reputable groups.

All you have to do is enter your zip code into the box below and we’ll put you in touch with the very best – guaranteed!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map