Mississippi Car Insurance

mississippi

There are more than 100 different insurance companies licensed to do business in the state of Mississippi. Determining which to approach for quotes can be confusing, especially considering the average person won’t have time to contact them all. Mississippi state law requires all drivers to prove financial responsibility by purchasing a car insurance policy. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need to understand Mississippi’s minimum insurance requirements.

Mississippi Car Insurance Minimums

Mississippi insurance law dictates the minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage you must carry to be considered financially responsible. All drivers must have at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident to pay for property damage liability.

These coverage limits are only minimums and won’t go far if you are involved in a serious accident. If the limit on your policy is not high enough, you’ll be responsible for paying for damages out of your own pocket. Failure to carry enough insurance may result in a lawsuit in which you lose your house, cars, and other assets. Ask your insurance representative about increasing your liability limits as much higher options are available.

Optional Insurance Coverages

There are a myriad of other types of car insurance you should consider adding to your policy as well. Some companies will allow you to add uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to protect you against drivers who did not purchase any/enough coverage. You may also want to consider comprehensive (for fire, theft, and vandalism) and collision (for damages you cause). If your vehicle is financed, comprehensive and collision may be required by contract. Other optional coverages include towing, labor, and rental reimbursement. Ask your insurance agent which options are best for your needs.

Mississippi Insurance Discounts

Finding affordable insurance is easier if you qualify for your company’s discount programs. Most insurance companies will give discounts to good students, to drivers who have great driving records, and to senior citizens. Drivers may earn credits for taking extra defensive driving courses or for installing anti-theft devices in their vehicles as well. Some companies will even give you discounts for insuring your home and car with them.

Driving without Insurance in Mississippi

Driving without insurance in Mississippi can result in serious penalties. The first offense involves fines up to $1,000 and your license may be suspended for up to a year (plus the length of time it takes you after that to obtain insurance coverage). Each offense after the first involves harsher fines and penalties.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help

Not sure where to start your search for affordable car insurance? CarInsuranceReviews.com can help by putting you in touch with affordable companies with great reputations for customer service. All you’ll have to do is give them your details and compare the quotes.

Shopping for insurance in Mississippi is as easy as clicking a button. Enter your zip code into the form below and we’ll get you started!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map