Minnesota Car Insurance

minnesota

Not unlike the other states, Minnesota state law sets regulations for drivers and the purchase of car insurance. There are no options for proving financial responsibility in Minnesota aside from showing proof that you have purchased a car insurance policy from a state-licensed company. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need to ensure you’re purchasing the right amount of coverage.

Minnesota’s No-Fault Laws

The state of Minnesota is another no-fault state. No-fault means that your insurance company will be required to pay your medical bills and damages directly to you no matter who caused the accident in question. This law applies to most cut-and-dry accidents and does much to eliminate the burden on the state’s legal system. Complex accidents will still involve driver responsibility and the assignment of fault in order to determine who pays the bills.

Minimum Coverage in Minnesota

Minnesota insurance law requires drivers to have a number of different coverage options. The most important option is bodily injury liability, the coverage that will pay for another person’s medical bills if you are assigned fault in an accident. Your policy must include at least $30,000 per person with a minimum of $60,000 per accident involving multiple parties. You must also have property damage liability in the amount of $10,000 to pay for damage you cause another person’s car or property.

Because Minnesota is a no-fault state, PIP (personal injury protection), is also mandatory. You must have at least $40,000 in personal injury coverage, which breaks down to about $20,000 for your medical bills and $20,000 for non-medical expenses related to your accident – like loss of wages or in-home services.

Minnesota drivers are required to carry both uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage as well. Some states combine the two but Minnesota drivers must have a separate limit of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for each. This coverage is designed to protect you if you are involved in an accident with a driver who has NO coverage (uninsured) or simply not enough coverage (underinsured) to pay your bills.

These limits are all incredibly low and should be increased if you can afford to do so. There are also several optional coverage limits you can add to your policy for additional protection, like collision and comprehensive coverage, towing and labor, or rental reimbursement. Ask your insurance representative about these coverages.

Driving without Minnesota Insurance

Driving without insurance in Minnesota is considered a misdemeanor the first time you are caught and escalates to a gross misdemeanor if you are caught a 2nd time within a ten year period. The fines associated with this offense range from $250 to $1000 and may or may not include a sentence of up to 90 days in prison. You’ll also face license and registration suspensions and you will not be able to reinstate your driving privileges until you can prove you have coverage.

Shop with CarInsuranceReviews.com

CarInsuranceReviews.com wants to take the guesswork out of the process of shopping for car insurance. Enter your zip code into the box below and we’ll put you in touch with some of the best companies in Minnesota – guaranteed!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map