Massachusetts Car Insurance

massachusetts

Car insurance laws in Massachusetts are regulated by the Division of Insurance. The state, considered the 6th in the country when it comes to high insurance premiums, currently allows approximately 25 different companies to write car insurance. Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to help you understand Massachusetts law before you try to determine which company you want to do business with.

Massachusetts Financial Responsibility Laws

Establishing financial responsibility is a must in Massachusetts. Doing so means you will be able to pay for any of the medical bills or damages associated with an accident you may cause. Unlike most other states, Massachusetts law only gives you one option for proving financial responsibility and that is to purchase a car insurance policy.

Massachusetts Minimum Insurance Requirements

The minimum limits of liability coverage in Massachusetts are similar to those found in other states. Individuals must carry at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability to pay for the medical expenses of others. You must also carry at least $5,000 to pay for the property damage you cause others if you hit their vehicles or property.

Personal injury protection, or PIP, is another mandatory coverage and you must have a limit of at least $8,000 per accident. This coverage will pay for your own medical bills or the medical bills accrued by your passengers or anyone you give permission to drive your car. It will also pay for your medical bills if you are involved in an accident as a pedestrian.

Massachusetts law also requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage with a minimum limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. This coverage is also designed to protect you if you are in an accident caused by driver who is not insured.

Finding a Competitive Rate

State law at one point allowed for an established system of car insurance premium rating which really minimized the competition in an already expensive state. In April of 2008, Massachusetts legislators decided to allow insurance carriers to design their own merit rating plans, filing their own base rates and allowing each company room to determine how they will apply surcharges for accidents or violations.

Car insurance companies approved to do business in Massachusetts don’t have to design merit rating programs if they don’t want to. They are also allowed to join the State Driver Insurance Plan if they are willing to give discounts to drivers with great records while only increasing premiums for less-than-desirable drivers.

Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts

Driving without insurance in Massachusetts can be costly. Letting your policy lapse or simply driving without proof of coverage can result in traffic violations, fines, and points on your license. Obtaining insurance after the fact will prove expensive as well.

The Benefits of Using CarInsuranceReviews.com

While there aren’t as many car insurance companies in Massachusetts as there are in other states, you may still find it difficult to determine which carrier is best for your needs. CarInsuranceReviews.com has partnered with some of the most reputable car insurance companies in the state, giving you instant access to their representatives.

All you have to do is enter your zip code into the box below. Before long, you’ll be talking to insurance representatives from some of the best companies in the area!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map