Maryland Car Insurance

maryland

The state of Maryland is not unlike most other states, requiring all drivers to purchase car insurance before they are allowed to operate a motor vehicle. While many states give drivers options for proving they are financially responsible, Maryland drivers only have one option – purchasing car insurance. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need to ensure you’re purchasing coverage that meets state guidelines.

Maryland Minimum Insurance Requirements

Maryland insurance law states that all drivers must purchase a car insurance policy with at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident involving 2 or more people in bodily injury liability coverage. The policy must also include $15,000 in property damage liability. These limits will pay for the medical bills and property damages associated with an accident you cause.

The state of Maryland is considered no-fault, meaning your car insurance policy must pay your medical and repair bills regardless of who is at fault for causing the accident. Because of this law, Maryland drivers are also required to carry at least $2,500 in personal injury protection, or PIP, to pay for their medical expenses.

Uninsured motorist coverage is also required in Maryland and the minimum limits are the same as you would purchase for bodily injury liability. Uninsured motorist coverage will protect you and your vehicle if you are in a serious accident with an individual who does not have any insurance.

While the state is responsible for setting minimum limits of liability insurance, these numbers do not guarantee you will have enough money to pay for all of the damages associated with an accident you are responsible for causing. Any bills over the limit will be your responsibility and could cause you to lose your home or other assets. Most drivers opt to carry limits much higher than the minimums. Ask your insurance representative for more details about the prices associated with higher coverage options.

Driving without Insurance in Maryland

Driving without insurance in Maryland is a serious offense. The department of motor vehicles can charge you up to $150 for the first 30 days you are without coverage and will charge you an additional $7 per day for each day after the first 30 you remain uncovered. You’ll have to pay to reinstate your registration and driver’s license and you won’t be able to do that until you have paid all of your other fines and shown proof of insurance.

Attempting to provide fake insurance documents is even worse than simply admitting you don’t have coverage. This offense carries a minimum fine of $1,000 and may cause you to spend up to a year in jail.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Wants to Help

There’s no need to spend a ton of money on fines when car insurance is so accessible. We at CarInsuranceReviews.com have worked hard to put together a list of reputable insurance companies and we want to introduce you.

Simply enter your zip code into the field below and we’ll put you in touch with some of the best carriers in your area. You’ll be insured before you know it.

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map