Maine Car Insurance

maine

Maine is another relatively small state but the competition amongst insurance carriers can be pretty fierce. There are a number of options available for drivers to choose from, sometimes making it difficult to week out the good carriers from the bad. Start by letting CarInsuranceReviews.com fill you in on Maine’s insurance requirements and then begin the process of searching for an actual policy.

Financial Responsibility in Maine

Financial responsibility refers to your ability to pay for the damages you may cause another person if you are responsible for the occurrence of a car accident. Some states give drivers a handful of options for proving financial responsibility, but Maine lawmakers wanted to keep things simple. All Maine drivers must purchase car insurance from a state-approved carrier.

Maine’s Minimum Coverage Requirements

Like most other states mandate, the Maine car insurance policy you purchase must have at least the minimum coverage limits required by law. Your insurance policy must carry a bodily injury liability limit of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident involving more than one person. The policy must also include at least $25,000 in property damage liability. These coverage limits will pay for the medical bills and damages you cause others.

Maine state law also requires drivers to carry $2,000 in medical payments coverage and at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The medical payments coverage will pay for your own initial medical bills or death expenses, if necessary.

Maine is not a no-fault state but is instead a tort state. Tort states allow accident victims to sue the person found to be at fault for an accident in civil court. They can sue not only for medical bills but for loss of income and a number of other expenses.

While still considered low, these limits are amongst the highest in the nation. Even still, they may not cover you completely if you cause a catastrophic accident, especially one involving disability or death. You should increase these coverage limits if you can afford to do so.

Driving without Insurance in Maine

You’ll need to prove that you have insurance before you can register your vehicle and obtain Maine license plates. If you are caught without insurance you may be fined, receive a moving violation, or have your license and registration suspended.

If you receive a citation for not having insurance you will be required to purchase coverage and file a SR-22 form each year. Being marked as an individual who needs an SR-22 form will likely cause your insurance premiums to be higher than average.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help

We know how tough it is to find reasonably priced car insurance, especially when there are so many insurance companies to choose from. Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to put you in touch with a handful of insurance carriers with great reputations. All you’ll have to do is compare the quotes and choose which is best.

Ready to shop? Enter your zip code into the field below and we’ll get started!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map