Kansas Car Insurance

kansas

The Kansas Insurance Department is amongst the oldest in the country, having been established back in 1871. The department was created in order to regulate the insurance industry and to ensure the guidelines dictating the minimum levels of insurance required in the state were adhered to by all carriers. CarInsruanceReviews.com is here to provide you with all of the information you need in order to legally operate a motor vehicle in Kansas.

Financial Responsibility in Kansas

Kansas state law mandates all individuals must prove financial responsible before they can operate a motor vehicle. Financial responsibility, or the ability to pay damages in an accident, can be proven in one of two manners. You can either go through the self-insurance process as mandated by the Kansas Insurance Department or you can purchase a liability insurance policy with at least the state minimum limits.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Kansas

The minimum requirements for car insurance in Kansas are different from many states. As one of only a dozen or so states with no-fault laws, the guidelines are a bit stricter when it comes to what coverage options you must purchase. These coverages include liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Bodily injury liability and property damage liability are required in all states. Kansas law states you must purchase at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability as well as $10,000 per accident in property damage coverage.

Personal injury protection, or PIP, is also required in most states with no-fault laws. Kansas breaks the PIP requirements into several sections. You must have at least $4,500 to pay for your medical bills; at least $900 per month (1 year minimum) to pay for disability or a loss of income if you can’t work; $25 per day (1 year minimum) for services to help you within your home if you are disabled; $2,000 in funeral expense money; and at least $4,500 to pay for rehabilitation associated with your accident.

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is not required in many states but is an important coverage option that Kansas has made mandatory. This coverage will protect you against damages another driver causes you or your property if he is either uninsured or simply does not carry enough coverage to pay your medical bills.

These are, of course, only minimum coverage limits. We highly recommend speaking to your insurance representative about increasing these limits as much as you can afford to in order to protect your assets if you are ever in a serious motor vehicle accident.

Penalties for Driving without Insurance

Kansas law is strict and the penalties for driving without insurance are severe. Your first offense will come with a maximum fine of $1,000 and failure to pay the fine may land you in jail for up to 6 months. If caught again before a three year period has expired you will receive a fine with a maximum of $2,500 and will have your license and registration revoked.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

Don’t risk getting caught without car insurance. Simply enter your zip code into the field below and we’ll put you in touch with a series of local car insurance carriers from Kansas. Affordable insurance is just a click away.

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map