Illinois Car Insurance

illinois

Unlike most other states, Illinois only has one option for proving financial responsibility, or the ability to pay damages after causing an accident. While some states allow bonds or self-insurance certificates, Illinois drivers have no choice but to purchase car insurance from a state-approved carrier. We at CarInsuranceReviews.com want to make sure you have all of the information you need to legally drive in Illinois.

Minimum Coverage Requirements in Illinois

Any vehicle that requires a license plate in order to be legally operated in Illinois must have insurance. The minimum level of coverage you must carry includes $20,000 per person and $40,000 per person in bodily injury liability and $15,000 in property damage liability. Bodily injury liability will pay for the medical bills another person incurs as a result of an accident you cause. Property damage liability will pay for repairs to vehicles or other property damaged due to your negligence.

It is important to note that these coverage limits are very low. While they are the minimum the state will accept, they would not cover all of the bills associated with an accident of any severity. Most drivers will opt for liability coverage limits of at least $100,000 – sometimes higher. While new, young drivers often have difficulty affording increased limits, experienced drivers with families and homes need to consider their assets. Your insurance policy will not pay anything about the limits you purchase and if your policy doesn’t provide enough coverage you will have to pay the difference out of your own pocket. If you’re in a serious accident, you could lose your car, home, or savings in the process.

What Happens if My Coverage Lapses?

Anyone caught driving without insurance coverage in Illinois will face serious penalties. At the very least, your license plates will be suspended until you can prove you have insurance coverage. This may happen after you are caught driving without insurance or after your insurance company provides the DMV with an electronic status update indicating you are no longer covered. You won’t be able to get your license plates back until you have insurance and can pay the $100 reinstatement charge.

Those who are actually caught without insurance during a traffic stop or after an accident will receive a license plate suspension as well. In this instance, you’ll not only have to pay the reinstatement fee but will be charged an additional fine of at least $500 as well. Repeat offenders will not be allowed to register license plates for at least 4 months.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

We at CarInsuranceReviews.com understand how important it is for you to keep your car on the road but we also know how difficult it can be to wade through the myriad of insurance companies doing business in Illinois. Our job is to put you in touch with some of the most reputable carriers in the state so that you can compare quotes and prices without worry about customer service problems.

Are you ready to shop? Simply type your zip code into the form below and we’ll get to work, pairing you with some of the best car insurance companies in Illinois!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map