Idaho Car Insurance

idaho

Believe it or not, there are more than 100 car insurance companies licensed to do business in the state of Idaho. With so many options, we’re never surprised to hear that Idaho drivers simply don’t know where to start when shopping for affordable coverage. CarInsuranceReviews.com aims to make the process a little bit easier by explaining the state’s coverage guidelines before putting you in touch with reputable companies.

Financial Responsibility in Idaho

Financial responsibility refers to your ability to pay for damages you may be responsible for if you cause a car accident. The state of Idaho gives drivers several options for proving financial responsibility.

The first option is to submit an indemnity bond guaranteeing you’ll be able to pay at least $50,000 per accident, up to a maximum of $120,000 if there are 5 or more cars involved. You’ll have to pay this amount within 30 days of the accident. The bond you present must be issued by a surety company that has been previously approved by the Idaho Department of Insurance.

The second option is to self-insure your vehicles. You may not self-insure unless you own a fleet of at least 25 cars and have a net worth of at least $500,000. This option is really most appropriate for transportation companies and car dealerships.

The most affordable and widely accepted option is to simply purchase car insurance from one of the carriers approved to do business in Idaho.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Idaho

Like most states, Idaho state law mandates minimum levels of insurance coverage for all drivers. Every policy must include at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability – the coverage you need to pay for another person’s medical expenses if you cause an accident. Your policy must also include at least $15,000 in property damage coverage – the coverage that will pay to repair the other person’s car or property.

While these are the minimum acceptable limits, they are by no means enough to pay for a serious car wreck. The average car costs more than $15,000 and if you are in a serious accident you’ll find that the related hospital bills and expenses will quickly exceed the limits listed on your policy. Most people choose to purchase limits of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident while others choose to go even higher.

Idaho state law is strict but fair when it comes to driving without insurance. Your first offense will result in a fine of $75 and you may be asked to continuously prove you have insurance over the course of a year. Any offense after the first is considered a misdemeanor offense and will result in a maximum fine of $1,000 and possible jail time.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help

Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to make sorting through the myriad of Idaho insurance provides a bit simpler. All you have to do is enter your zip code into the field below and we’ll put you in touch with some of the best carriers in the state – guaranteed!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map