Hawaii Car Insurance

hawaii

When you think of the Hawaiian islands, car insurance is certainly not amongst the first things to come to mind. Regardless, the state of Hawaii is a no-fault insurance state and all drivers must be properly insured at all times. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need regarding the state’s insurance guidelines – from minimum insurance limits to optional coverages.

Hawaii’s Minimum Insurance Requirements

Hawaii state law does not allow drivers options when it comes to proving financial responsibility. While other states allow drivers to put up bonds, certificates of deposit, or certificates of self-insurance, all Hawaiian drivers must purchase car insurance.

The minimum amount of insurance you can purchase in Hawaii is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $10,000 in property damage liability. These coverage options will pay for medical bills and property repair bills associated with an accident you cause. The limits can be increased and you are encouraged to purchase higher limits if you can afford to do so in order to avoid having to personally pay for damages if your limits are not high enough.

Because Hawaii is considered a no-fault state, all drivers are required to purchase at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage as well. This coverage will pay your own medical bills, regardless of who is found to be at fault for the accident in question.

While not required, most Hawaii car insurance carriers strongly suggest purchasing underinsured motorist and uninsured motorist coverage as well. The minimum limit you can purchase is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. This coverage is designed to protect you against damages caused by a driver who does not have proper insurance coverage of his own.

Penalties for Driving without Insurance

It is important to carry your Hawaii car insurance identification card with you at all times. Failure to do so can result in a number of penalties up to and including a motor vehicle citation and a serious fine. If your insurance is expired or has been canceled, you will be required to turn in your license plates. You won’t be allowed to drive again until you get new insurance, pay your fines, and reinstate your insurance coverage.

How CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

There are dozens of car insurance companies throughout Hawaii and it is often difficult to determine which one is best for your specific needs. While pricing is important, it is also essential to work with an agent who can provide great customer service while guiding you through the insurance world as painlessly as possible. CarInsuranceReviews.com can help you by putting you in touch with credible insurance carriers that have been approved by the Department of Commerce Division in Hawaii. These companies will give you the quotes you need and will work with you to determine the maximum amount of coverage you can afford.

Ready to start your search for Hawaii car insurance? Enter your zip code in the box below and we’ll put you in touch with local companies right away!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map