Georgia Car Insurance

Georgia

The state of Georgia is home to more than 10 million people and many of them hit the roads each day to get to work, school, or special events. Drivers must prove financial responsibility before they’re allowed to register a vehicle, meaning they must be able to show they can pay for any bills associated with accidents they may cause. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need in order to determine how to prove your own financial responsibility in Georgia.

Methods for Proving Financial Responsibility

Georgia state law gives drivers two options for proving financial responsibility. The first is to contact the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner in order to go through the process of proving you have equitable assets so that you can self-insure. The second method is to simply contact an insurance carrier that has been approved by the Office of Insurance in order to purchase the minimum coverage allowable by law.

Georgia Minimum Insurance Coverage

While purchasing higher levels of coverage is optimal, each state has a set minimum for you to start with. In Georgia, all drivers must have at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in coverage to pay for medical expenses, also known as bodily injury liability. Drivers must also have at least $25,000 in property damage liability coverage to pay for damage caused to cars, houses, telephone poles, or any other property they destroy in an accident.

Again, higher levels of coverage are best and will ensure you have enough money to pay for the damages you may cause in a serious accident. Your insurance company will only pay up to the amount listed on your policy for each accident. Anything more will come out of your own pocket.

Proving You Have Insurance in Georgia

All insurance companies doing business in Georgia send electronic proof of your coverage to the Motor Vehicle Division. Your coverage may not yet be in the state’s system so it is important to carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Those who have purchased Georgia car insurance should carry an insurance card or a copy of the insurance binder issued for a new policy. The binder is only good for 30 days, so make sure you get your card from your carrier as soon as possible.

Most car insurance policies automatically extend coverage to new vehicles for up to 30 days. Make sure you have a copy of your policy with you when you go to pick up your new car so that you can keep it with you for proof of coverage while you wait to finish your insurance paperwork.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help

Finding a car insurance carrier is easy. Finding a reputable carrier offering stellar customer service is a different story. CarInsurancReviews.com can help by putting you in touch with some of the best insurance companies in Georgia.

Ready to shop for new insurance? Simply put your zip code in the box below and we’ll give you access to some of the most reputable companies in the state!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map