Florida Car Insurance

Florida

The sunshine state is a popular destination for retirees and vacationers. It’s no surprise to find that its roads are often congested, especially in popular tourist areas. Despite its large population, car insurance in Florida is more affordable than in any other state. Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to make sure you know exactly what you need so that you can keep your car insurance premiums as reasonable as possible.

Florida’s Financial Responsibility Rules

All drivers in Florida must prove that they are financially responsible. This means they must be able to prove they can pay for damages they may cause if they are in an automobile accident. Florida guidelines allow for drivers to show financial responsibility in one of four manners:

  • By providing a Self Insurance Certificate,
  • By providing a cash deposit with a Financial Responsibility Certificate obtained from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility,
  • By providing proof of a surety bond with the same certificate, or
  • By providing proof of car insurance.

Minimum Insurance Coverage in Florida

Florida’s minimum insurance requirements are very low in comparison to other states. The law states that all drivers must have at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage. Drivers must also have $10,000 per person in property damage liability coverage as well. These coverage options will provide payment to cover the expenses incurred by another person should you cause an accident. The state also allows drivers to purchase a combined single limit policy, covering bodily injury and property damage, as long as the policy has a limit of at least $30,000.

Florida is considered a no-fault state, meaning your own insurance company will pay your medical bills regardless of who is at fault for the accident. Despite the no-fault laws, Florida’s guidelines do allow drivers to sue the person who caused the accident if they can prove gross negligence.

As noted, Florida’s minimum insurance requirements are very low. If you were to cause a major accident you would be sued and would have to pay any amounts over those limits out of your own pocket. Being unable to do so could cause you to lose your home or possessions.

Driving without Florida Insurance

Driving without insurance in Florida is serious business. If you are caught, the division of motor vehicles will suspend your driver’s license, registration, and license plate. The suspensions can last for any length of time up to three years, remaining in effect after the stipulated length of time if you do not obtain insurance right away. You’ll not only have to pay for insurance but will also have to pay anywhere from $150 to $500 to have your license and registration reinstated as well.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

We at CarInsuranceReviews.com know how difficult it can be to choose a car insurance company in Florida. We can help by putting you in touch with trusted, local carriers known for providing great customer service.

Ready to hit the road? Enter your zip code in the form below and we’ll help you to get started!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map