Delaware Car Insurance

Delaware

The first state may be small but its roads are incredibly crowded and congested. It doesn’t matter if you drive 5 miles or 50 to get to work each day – state law says that car insurance is mandatory and the penalties for driving without it are stiff. CarInsuranceReviews.com has all of the information you need to ensure you’re driving within the confines of Delaware state law.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Delaware

Delaware, like most other states, has strict guidelines governing the minimum amount of coverage you can purchase for your vehicle. All drivers are required to have $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for the medical bills for the individuals injured at your expense. You are also required to carry $10,000 in property damage liability to pay for the repair to vehicles or other property you may damage.

Delaware state law requires drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) as well. PIP coverage pays for the medical bills you personally incur as a result of a car accident. It will also pay part of your funeral expenses if the accident results in you losing your life.

Understanding No-Fault Coverage

Delaware is one of a handful of states that is considered to be no-fault. This means that drivers involved in minor accidents will not have to worry about suing each other for medical bills or property damage. Your own insurance company will pay your medical bills, which is part of the reason the state requires PIP coverage.

Proving You are Financially Responsible

Some states allow drivers to show financial responsibility, or their abilities to pay for damages associated with an accident, without purchasing car insurance. These states sometimes accept bonds or certificates of deposit. The state of Delaware will only accept proof of insurance issued by a company licensed to do business within the state.

Getting caught without proof of insurance is serious business. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first offense or if you are a repeat offender. Driving without insurance will cost you a minimum of $1,500 in fines and will result in your license being suspended for at least 6 months.

Some people think they can purchase auto insurance, show proof to the DMV, and then cancel to save money. The DMV in Delaware conducts random automobile insurance audits. If this happens, you’ll need to get a certificate from your insurance company to prove you have the proper coverage.

Can CarInsuranceReviews.com Help?

There is a ton of competition amongst insurance companies and agents in the state of Delaware. Deciding who to work with can be a very difficult. CarInsuranceReviews.com can help by putting you in touch with a series of trusted companies doing business in your area. You’ll be able to request quotes and choose which are best for your needs.

Are you ready to shop? Enter your zip code in the form below. We’ll put you in touch with some of the best insurance companies in Delaware!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map