Connecticut Car Insurance

Connecticut

The Connecticut Insurance Department, like the insurance departments in most other states, has set forth a series of car insurance requirements for those who wish to drive within the state. Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to make those guidelines clear so that you can complete an educated search for affordable car insurance coverage.

Establishing Financial Responsibility in Connecticut

In many states, purchasing car insurance is not the only method for proving financial responsibility. Some accept bonds, certificates of deposit, and proof of self-insurance. The state of Connecticut has simplified the process by allowing no options other than proof that a driver has purchased insurance coverage from a state-approved company.

Minimum Car Insurance in Connecticut

All Connecticut drivers must show proof of insurance to prove they have purchased the minimum amount of coverage as set forth by the state. All drivers must have a minimum of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage and $10,000 per accident in property damage liability. These coverage options will pay for the medical bills or property repair bills you cause others to incur if you are responsible for causing an accident.

While these are minimum coverage limits, it is important to recognize that carrying higher limits is important to your financial health and well-being. A serious accident can easily result in damages higher than the minimum limits and you will be personally responsible for paying any bills over and above the limits shown on your policy. Ask your insurance representative about the costs of increasing these limits.

Optional Car Insurance Coverage Limits

You can, of course, add coverage options in addition to bodily injury and property damage liability to your policy. Comprehensive coverage is available to protect your vehicle against theft or vandalism while collision coverage is available to protect your vehicle against damages you are responsible for causing in an accident. While these coverage options are not required by the state, those who finance or lease new cars may find that the terms of their loans require these coverage options be added to the policy.

Other optional coverages include GAP coverage to protect you against the difference between the amount of your vehicle loan and the actual depreciated value of your car, towing and labor, and rental reimbursement. Ask your agent to explain any of the options you may find necessary or convenient.

Let CarInsuranceReviews.com Help

You may find the process of searching for car insurance daunting but it is a necessary part of life. Failing to carry insurance on a registered vehicle may result in fines of at least $200 as well as possible suspension of both your registration and driver’s license – in addition, of course, to the cost of purchasing insurance so that you can have all of these things reinstated.

Don’t be overwhelmed by the process of shopping for car insurance. Simply enter your zip code into the box below and we’ll put you in touch with local Connecticut agents willing to give you the best quotes possible.

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map