California Car Insurance

california

The state of California is rated as the 5th largest economy in the world. The state is incredibly congested, serving as the home to more than 37 million people. While the amount of competition might lead you to believe it is easy to find affordable car insurance in California, nothing could be further from the truth. The high theft rates, traffic jams, and increased risk of auto accidents make it difficult to find affordable coverage. Our goal at CarInsuranceReviews.com is to help you find the least expensive coverage possible.

California’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Like most states, California law requires all drivers to show proof of financial responsibility. Those who can’t afford to pay for damages they may cause are not allowed to drive. Financial responsibility can be established by presenting the California DMV with a dash deposit of $35,000, a self-insurance certificate, a surety bond, or a car insurance policy issued by a California insurer. Most opt to purchase a car insurance policy.

Despite the high accident rates and the level of congestion, the state of California has some of the lowest car insurance requirements in the country. State law requires all drivers to carry only $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and only $5,000 in property damage liability coverage. Bodily injury liability pays for medical expenses while property damage liability will pay for property damage resulting from your negligence in causing an accident.

These limits are incredibly low and would not cover all of your expenses if you were found liable for causing a serious accident. We strongly recommend asking the companies you deal with to quote higher limits and talking to them bbou

California Car Insurance Coverage Options

The state of California is one of only a handful experimenting with different types of car insurance policies. Your standard car insurance policy runs for either 6 months or 12 months and the price stays the same regardless of how much or little you drive. Some companies are offering pay-as-you-go alternatives. If you opt for this type of policy you’ll be asked to provide proof your mileage periodically. You’ll receive a bill for the excess miles if you drive more than you paid for. These options are great for individuals who live in congested areas and use public transportation more than they drive.

Penalties for Not Purchasing Insurance

The penalties for not having car insurance in California are very strict. They include the suspension of your vehicle registration or your driver’s license, a traffic ticket totaling a minimum of $1,000, and impoundment of your vehicle. If you get a ticket, you’ll have to go to court to prove you have purchased insurance and could be subject to extra court costs as well.

How CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

The state of California is congested and there are dozens of licensed car insurance companies vying for your attention. CarInsuranceReviews.com will put you in touch with the best carriers so that you can obtain quotes from trusted partners.

Ready to shop? Enter your zip code in the field below to start hearing from some of the best California car insurance companies in your area!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map