Alaska Car Insurance

Alaska

Despite its out-of-the-way location in comparison to other states, Alaska is home to some of the toughest car insurance requirements in the nation. While the landscape is vast, there are more than 700,000 people living in Alaska and it is important for each and every driver to be insured. CarInsuranceReviews.com aims to provide you with the information you need in order to understand Alaska’s strict requirements so that you can get the best insurance possible.

Establishing Financial Responsibility in Alaska

There are three methods for proving financial responsibility, or your ability to pay if you cause an accident, in Alaska. You must either post a bond (usually valued at $50,000 or more), self-insure by proving you are able to pay cash for damages, or purchase automobile insurance. The majority of people choose to simply purchase Alaskan car insurance.

Drivers in Alaska must be able to show proof of coverage at all times. You can do this by showing a copy of your bond, a self-insurance certificate, a copy of your insurance policy, or a copy of your company-issued automobile insurance identification card.

Mandatory Car Insurance Coverage in Alaska

The state of Alaska mandates all drivers carry a minimum level of liability coverage in order to operate a motor vehicle. These coverage limits include $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage.

Your bodily injury limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident will pay for the medical bills another driver or passenger may incur as a result of your negligence in causing an accident. The company is placing a cap of $50,000 on the amount it will pay to any one individual. You will be responsible for paying the difference out of pocket if one person’s bills are over that amount. The cap of $100,000 in bodily injury liability applies to the total accident, regardless of the number of people involved.

Both the bodily injury and property damage liability limits mandated by the state of Alaska are higher than most other states but, as minimums, are still relatively low. The costs of paying for damages associated with a car accident can be astronomical, especially if you cause serious or permanent injuries or cause damage to a building, expensive car, or multiple pieces of property. It is important to consider higher liability limits if you can afford to do so.

Penalties for Driving with Car Insurance in Alaska

Anyone in an accident involving more than $500 in damages will be required to show proof of insurance. Failure to do so will result in the suspension of your driver’s license as well as significant fines. To reinstate your license you’ll need to prove you have purchased insurance in addition to paying your fines.

CarInsuranceReviews.com Can Help

Alaskan car insurance companies vary in the options they offer and are all priced differently. CarInsuranceReviews.com can help by putting you in touch with a wide variety of carriers throughout the state so that you can make an educated and informed choice.

Are you ready to start requesting car insurance quotes? Simply enter your zip code in the field below and we’ll put you in touch with local car insurance companies right away!

Copyright © 2011 | All Rights Reserved.

CarInsuranceReviews.com | About Us| Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions| Contact Us| Site Map